History of Theta Phi Alpha



    Theta Phi Alpha started as a Catholic fraternity in 1912 at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. It was founded by a group of friends sharing the same principles of faith, sisterhood and educational excellence. Since its beginning, Theta Phi Alpha has grown to accept women of all different faiths and backgrounds. However, the main values have remained the same. The women of this organization still strive to commit themselves to their faith, education and community in the form of service. Theta Phi Alpha is so much more than just a sorority, it's a way of life. It extends far beyond the years of college, becoming an integral part of the way we live for the rest of our lives. Today, Theta Phi Alpha extends to 49 chapters all across the United States. 



    Theta Phi's Ten Founders: Dorothy Caughey Phalan, Katrina Caughey Ward, Mildred Connely, Selma Gilday, Otilia Leuchtweis O'Hara, Amelia McSweeney, Camilla Ryan Sutherland, Helen Ryan Quinlan, May C. Ryan, Eva Stroh Bauer Everson under the supervision of Fr. Edward D. Kelly